the transformative power of live theater

Antaeus Archive:

2011 Season

Peace in Our Time

October 13 – December 18, 2011

Written by: Noël Coward, Adaptation by Barry Creyton
Directed by: Casey Stangl

This mind-bending play, written by a master playwright at his devilish best, poses a most intriguing and terrifying question – What if the Nazis had won the Battle of Britain? Written in 1946, the play takes place in a South London pub with a diverse cast of characters – writers, artists, young members of the resistance, working-class Brits and of course, officers of the Third Reich. It presents a curious and fascinating look at London in the 1940s.

Antaeus Theatre Company is proud to present the U.S. premiere of a new adaptation of Noël Coward’s Peace in Our Time by ensemble member Barry Creyton, who has inventively woven some of the playwright’s brilliant patriotic war songs and some of his lesser known ballads into the play. These distinctive ditties with his incisive and wickedly ironic lyrics give the piece an authentically “British” sensibility which seems to capture even more fully “the intrinsic character of a nation” to which Coward referred. With the full support of the Noël Coward Foundation, Antaeus has been developing this piece for the last two years and is proud to present a full production, double cast, as is Antaeus’ long-followed practice, making a full company of 46 actors!

Peace in Our Time is wonderfully funny, yet darkly thought provoking. Given the current state of world events, the production asks the same question of us now that it did originally: Will there ever be peace in our time?


Recommended for Ages 16+


PIANO PLAYER: John Allee, Richard Levinson
LYIA VIVEN: Raleigh Holmes, Rebecca Mozo
FRED SHATTOCK: Josh Clark, Steve Hofvendahl
MR. GRAINGER: John Combs, Philip Proctor
NORA SHATTOCK: Eve Gordon, Lily Knight
MRS. GRAINGER: Anna Mathias, Amelia White
GEORGE BOURNE: Daniel Bess, Christopher Guilmet
CHORLEY BANISTER: Bill Brochtrup, JD Cullum
DORIS SHATTOCK: Danielle Jones, Abby Wilde
ALFIE BLAKE: Drew Doyle, Buck Zachary
LILY BLAKE: Karianne Flaathen, Zoe Perry
ALMA BOUGHTON: Kendra Chell, Ann Noble
JANET BRAID: Emily Chase, Rebekah Tripp
ALBRECHT RICHTER: Jason Henning, Rob Nagle
PHYLLIS MERE: Etta Devine, Rosalyn Mitchell
BOBBY PAXTON/A2 GESTAPO: Paul Culos, Jesse Sharp
GLADYS MOTT: Belen Greene, Joanna Strapp
KURT FOSTER/A1 GESTAPO: Joseph Fuhr, Patrick Wenk-Wolff
DR. VENNING: Mark Doerr, Peter Larney
STEVIE SHATTOCK: Jason Dechert, Brian Tichnell
MRS. MASSITER: Susan Boyd Joyce, Melinda Peterson
BILLY GRAINGER: Christopher Clowers

*member, Actor’s Equity Association, the union of professional Actors and Stage Managers in the U.S. This production is presented under the auspices of the Actors’ Equity Los Angeles Membership Company Rule

Production Team

Scenic Designer: Tom Buderwitz
Costume Designer: Jessica Olson
Lighting Designer: Jeremy Pivnick
Sound Design: John Zalewski
Musical Director: Richard Levinson
Property Design: Heather Ho
Stage Manager: Lara E. Nall
Projections: John Apicella

“…the artistic vitality mark this incisive revival a must-see achievement.” – Backstage

“…beautifully mounted production…” – LA Times


let's talk!

Sign up for the Antaeus Newsletter